Have a little faith.

Much like the next person, I spend a lot more time considering my flaws than coddling myself for my best traits, but I have pinpointed a character trait of mine which I find to be quite agreeable: that is that I have the unwavering belief that people act with the best of intentions. It’s a very naive belief, and I know this, but for some reason I never doubt that everyone around me at least subconsciously considers the possible outcomes of their actions and what effect they would have on others.

This conviction of mine leads me to have some more pleasant characteristics to offset my arrogance and often scathing candor. I tend to be very open with people whom I judge to be thoughtful or interesting. This summer I was placed in an environment full of people I had never encountered before, and within a week I found myself wanting to spend my entire day with my new friends, laughing with them, crying with them, and telling them every thought I dared to think. Along with this trusting nature comes abundant forgiveness. I don’t hold grudges against people for long, and if I find that I misjudged someone, I am quick to take back my ignorant opinions and entirely reform them.

Though it may sound idealistic, I strongly believe that everyone has the ability to think critically about their actions, and if we were all to think only a little bit more carefully about how our choices will play out, society could be a much more harmonious and empathic.

7 thoughts on “Have a little faith.

  1. I too like to believe that people act with the best intentions. I tend to give people the benefit of the doubt. I completely agree that we could all consider our actions more, but to be honest, whenever a situation occurs, the first reaction is usually the only reaction. People react with instinct and initial reaction, instead of thinking about consequences of the situation.

    Like

    • And that is just what I hope people will mature out of: acting without thinking. Also, initial actions may be rash, but that doesn’t mean there’s no room for people to reconsider and make up for their unsavory actions. But then again, gaining trust and respect is a lot harder than losing it.

      Like

  2. YES! Finally I get the chance to comment on your blog. Okay, you have this really great tone when you write: very sophisticated but highly relatable. This post is great. It sort of reminds me of the age-old debate about whether we should judge someone based on their intentions or based on their actions. I think I’d agree with you on this one. We are much more forgiving, understanding, and aware people if we think about a person’s intentions when they do something. I generally think 90% of the time good intentions translate to good actions. Therefore, if someone is treating us well, it’s fair to assume they have good intentions in regards to our friendship. While this is a very idealistic view, and we can’t always forgive people with the assumption that they “didn’t mean it THAT way”, I think we will be a lot happier as people if we forgive and forget rather than dwell on something that hurts us. That being said, there comes a point in a relationship where harmless teasing becomes emotional abuse and intentions go out the window. For making friends though, it’s great that you have such an open mind. You will go far for that reason. YAYAY!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s somewhat audacious to see everyone in that manner, since it’s a human flaw that sometimes, we might not always think things through before they’re done. Then again, believing that everyone does so entails unique and desirable characteristics of your personality as you have elaborated on, benefiting both yourself and interpersonal relationships with others around you. It’s definitely true that society would be better if we consciously considered our choices, yet from the viewpoint of a realist, the flaw inevitably surfaces time to time, only to remind us that we still have much to improve upon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

